Wednesday, 27 November 2013

Book review: Midnight Lies by Ella Grace

Title: Midnight Lies
Author: Ella Grace
Series: Book #2 in the Wildefire series
Release Date:September 24th 2013
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Number of pages:368 pages
Source: ebook copy provided through NetGalley for review

Grade: 3 stars

Novellus bonus!

Goodreads appetizer: The Wilde sisters of Midnight return in this thrilling novel of romantic suspense, perfect for fans of Maya Banks, Allison Brennan, and Lori Foster.


The winds of fate have blown cruelly on a family that once had it all: money, power, prestige. The lives of three beautiful daughters were forever changed when, on a sultry night in Midnight, Alabama, a murder-suicide shattered the Wilde family. The girls grew up to live separate lives but now have returned home, each to face a danger no one can see coming.

Former homecoming queen Samantha surprised everyone by going into law enforcement, but beneath her tough façade lies a wary heart. The tragedy that struck her family is an ever-present reminder that nothing is ever as it seems. When the man she loves, Quinn Braddock, a doctor and Iraq war veteran, is accused of murder, Samantha assumes the worst. Brokenhearted, her confidence shattered, she returns to Midnight. Though exonerated, Quinn still feels the sting of Samantha’s doubt, but he can’t forget his feelings for her and follows her. Soon after his arrival, a shocking murder terrifies the town, and once again, Quinn is under suspicion. This time, Samantha will not turn her back on the man she loves—even if it means walking into a killer’s trap.

My Thoughts: After how much I enjoyed reading the first book in the Wildefire series, you can easily understand why I was so excited when I started reading Midnight Lies. And for about the first half of the book I was pretty certain that Midnight Lies would be just as good as Midnight Secrets was, if not better. But that feeling unfortunately didn't last...

But let's take things from the start. My favorite part of the book was by far the pretty big introduction. Like in the first book of the series, Ella Grace takes the long route and describes in detail all the events that lead the couple in their present situation rather than start immediately and just inform us of her heroes' past. And while usually I'm not fond of big introductions, in this case I loved it! I thought that even if so many details were not necessary for the reader to understand the characters it still was a great way to get to know them before the actual story began. Plus, I always love a good mystery and Ella Grace knows exactly how to mix the right dose of mystery and suspense with a hot romance.

But, as soon as the intro finished, I noticed that I was becoming less and less excited with the whole story I'm afraid. I can't pinpoint exactly what it was that made me lose my interest. Maybe the fact that I had guessed the murderer's identity way too early in the story played a role. Or maybe because of how Quinn was portrayed as the sole responsible for his break-up with Sam. Don't get me wrong, he did treat her horribly but Sam played a role in their fall-out too. And the fact that only Sam understood that while all the others just assumed he was an asshat irked me a bit. They were both at fault (maybe one more than the other, but still both of them) and they needed to forgive each other.

And here probably lies my next problem with this book. And that is the characters. Sadly, even with the very detailed background I just couldn't connect to either of the main characters in Midnight Lies. Quinn was full of contradictions. He's supposed to be a control freak and never showing his emotions but at the same time he immediately caves to his ex's demands or rushes of to Midnight to beg for Sam's forgiveness as soon as he learns that she was the one who helped drop the charges against him. He's proud but still buys a house (of all things to do to get your loved one to forgive you!) in Midnight even when Sam turns him down.
And Quinn's character isn't the only one full of contradictions. Sam is as well. While she's portrayed as a smart and pretty perceptive person she acts nothing like it. What she does is doubt herself every other step of the way and never trusting her instincts.

Other than that the plot is another thing I wasn't all that excited about. While the writing style is very good and full of details and vivid images, the whole mystery subplot was done in a haste. After how great the whole story was set up at the beginning, the ending was anticlimactic to say the least. Both the murderer and his motive were pretty obvious really soon in the story.
So, you can easily understand why Midnight Lies couldn't really catch my interest. Neither the mystery part nor the chemistry between the main couple could get my attention I'm afraid.

Verdict: Midnight Lies was something of a disappointment for me I'm afraid, especially considering how much I enjoyed the first book in the Wildefire series. Even so, Ella Grace's writing style is so good that I can't possibly miss the opportunity of reading the next book in the series!

Plot: 6/10
Characters: 6/10
Writing: 8/10
Ending:.7 /10
Cover: 7/10

Buy it:

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

Order of the series:
Book #1 - Midnight Secrets
Book #2 - Midnight Lies

Related Posts with Thumbnails